Wk 11 – Activity – Fiber Art 

IMG_4602   IMG_4604IMG_4605

For this week’s activity, we had to create a Wall Hanging. I used wooden chopsticks, different colored yarn, scissors, and dried flowers.  I wanted to create a large statement piece for my bedroom wall, so I made it about a yard in width. I cut yarn pieces, also about a yard in length, and tied one end around the chopsticks I taped together. After all the yarn pieces were tied, I attached dried flowers throughout and “French-braided” them like I would with hair.

I was surprised to find out how time consuming Fiber Art actually is. It took several hours in total, mainly because the cutting and individual tying around the sticks took a lot longer than I expected. I was relieved and surprisingly satisfied to have finished my wall hanging. This activity has definitely made me appreciate the artists that specialize in Fiber Art!

Leave a Reply

