Wk 5 – Activity – Ethnography

11047938_10152548162876377_7225038097758041584_n

For this week’s activity, we had to spend one night without electricity. I took this photo of my cat who I spent my evening with. I spent the night eating a simple meal by candle light and trying to find things to do to keep busy.  After dinner I tried to read, but quickly gave up when the flickering candle lights began to give me a headache.  I didn’t realize how hard it was to find something to do that doesn’t involve electricity.  I couldn’t watch movies, listen to music, or even play games since all games I own are on my IPhone or IPad.  I found myself in bed before 10pm because there was nothing to do.

This activity made me realize exactly how much we’ve come to rely on electricity.  I actually had to go to the store during the day to buy candles because I didn’t have any at home.  It was frustrating, but fascinating to have had to go an evening without electricity. I used this time to think about what life must’ve been like for all the past generations of people that lived their entire lives with no electricity.  They relied on the sun, fire, and rudimentary tools to carry out all necessary daily tasks.  I have a newfound respect for them.

Leave a Reply

